Why my partner makes me a better mother

5-hearts

In honor of February, the month of love, I thought I would take this opportunity to gush over how amazing my fiancé is. Let me just give those of you who don’t know me some back story. Neil and I met in our sophomore year of high school and started dating shortly after that. I had never in my life been treated with such adoration and respect. And that’s when he was 16! He would do anything to make me happy, and that hasn’t changed to this day. It was so easy to fall in love with him. I always say, “we grew up together”… because when you meet at 16 years old, and go through high school, college, deaths, divorces, homes, long distance, etc. with someone, you grow into the person that you are now – together. He has consistently been my rock in this crazy life. He’s my goofy best friend and at the same time my serious and hard working partner. If you can’t already tell… I adore him.

Becoming a mom has been amazing, and it’s so fun to experience all of these moments with him. But becoming and being a mom is also really hard and trying on a relationship. After having a c-section, I can’t even imagine women who have to go through it alone. Having a partner who will stay up late with a screaming baby, change all the diapers, take them off your hands when you just can’t deal anymore… it makes a world of difference. Having a baby is such hard work, I really had no idea just how hard it can be physically and emotionally. Neil has been my biggest supporter and constantly tells me what a good mother I am to our daughter and how he feels so lucky to have me raising her. When you have spit up on your shirt, haven’t showered in 3 days, and you can barely hold your eyes open, that is just the best thing to hear. It makes all the difference in the world.

I have a partner who supports me and doesn’t consider it “a woman’s job” to take care of the baby. He takes a lot off of my plate. He gives me time to be me sometimes, instead of just mom-ing 24/7. He encourages me to read, take a bath, go shopping, or just get out of the house. When I’m not overwhelmed, tired, and stressed, I am such a better mother. I could never thank him enough for all that he does for me.

Okay guys, what does your partner do to help you out?

What do you mama’s do in your free time?

I love hearing from you!!

Happy February!!

4 thoughts on “Why my partner makes me a better mother”

  1. Aw Neil is so sweet. You are both so good to eachother!! Amelia lucked out with some rockstar parents. Love all 3 of you and can’t wait to see you next!! Also love this blog Shelb, keep it up!

    Like

  2. I love this post!! I feel the same way about my fiance! I have days where I’m hard on myself and he is always there to remind me of what a good mom I am and how lucky our daughter is to have me as her mommy. He is constantly suggesting I go out and take time for just me. He’s been asking me for the past week now, when I’m going to treat myself to a pedicure but I feel like I can never find the time! His patience with me during my times of frustration through motherhood and the love he shows us even when he’s the one who slept four hours less than me amazes me! Having an awesome partner is so nice, and having an even more awesome daddy for my baby is so reassuring!

    Like

    1. That’s awesome Emily! It’s so awesome to have such a supportive partner. And you ARE an amazing mama!
      I just snuck out for a pedicure yesterday!! Go do it – you deserve it!

      Like

Leave a comment